Youth Media Programs in Philadelphia Band Together to Support Youth”

Organizations that help Philadelphia children and young people build self-expression and creative skills through digital media production are banding together to increase the visibility of youth media programs in the city.

The PYMC was started in 2009 when representatives from local media organizations, including YES Philly, Media Education Lab at Temple University, Big Picture Alliance, University Community Collaborative of Philadelphia,WHYY Dorrance H. Hamilton Public Media Commons, PhillyCAM, Scribe Video Center, Spiral Q Puppet Theater, and Mural Arts Program started to meet regularly for information exchange and networking.

“The PYMC will bring more visibility and better connectedness between youth media serving organizations, as well as encourage creation of programs in which youth can actively engage in media creation and media literacy skill building.”

In August 2011,  the Philadelphia Youth Media Collaborative received support from the Philadelphia Foundation’s Fund for Children to build a vibrant network of youth-serving media organizations with expertise in youth development, youth media, and digital and media literacy in Philadelphia.

More than 4,000 young people each year in the Philadelphia region participate in a variety of youth media programs. Today, the Collaborative is able to actively move ahead to further strengthen collaboration between program providers, to increase the quality of instructional practices and programs, amplifying positive youth voices, while making youth media a larger part of the public discourse in Philadelphia.

Since 1918, The Philadelphia Foundation has linked those with financial resources to those who serve societal needs. It is the region’s community foundation, serving Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia counties.


Rafael Bitanga
PYMC Coordinator


June 2024
      1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
« May   Jul »


Get the latest news about the youth media in Philadelphia straight to your inbox